Five Kenya Power Board Members Resign


All Kenya Power Board members have resigned today, leaving the sole electricity distributor in the country with a void.

Those who have resigned include Mr Adil Khawaja, Mr Kairo Thuo, Mr Wilson Kimutai Mugung’ei, Mrs Brenda Kokoi and Ms Zipporah Kering.

In a statement, Kenya Power announced that the board members had resigned, without stating the reasons.

“The Board of Directors of the Kenya Power and Lighting Company PLC hereby announces the resignation of Mr. Adil Khawaja, Mr. Kairo Thuo, Mr. Wilson Kimutai Mugung’ei, Mrs. Brenda Kokoi and Hon. Zipporah Kering as Independent Directors.  The Company would like to sincerely thank the Directors for their commitment and dedicated service, and wishes them the best in their future endeavours,” announced Kenya Power.

Kenya Power’s profits after tax fell by 92 per cent from Ksh3.27 billion to Ksh262 million for the year ending June 2019.

For all the latest technology and business news from Kenya and the world, follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook.